Download a Prospectus
Calendar Icon Parents Portal Icon
Phone Icon

Meet the Staff and Governors

Each member of Queen Mary’s dedicated team is passionate about ensuring that you and your family are supported and cared for.

Leadership Team

Mrs C Cameron MA, PGCE, NPQH, FRGS

Deputy Head
Mrs D Hannam Walpole BEd (Hons)

Head of Finance and Estates
Mr P Normanton BA (Hons), CGMA, ACMA 

Director of Studies
Mrs M Smerdon BA (Hons) QTS                   

Junior School Lead
Mrs L Thomson MA (Hons) PGCE

Head of Marketing and Admissions
Mrs J Hirst BA (Hons), PGDip, ACIM Chartered Marketer

Board of Governors 


Mr T E Fielden BA (Hons) FCA 


The Revd Canon B Clover (Provost) MA LTCL
Mrs R Bryant LLB
Mrs N Gunson BSc (Hons), MSc
Reverend Susanne Jukes
Mr J Murray
Mr N J Pearce MSc BSc (Agric) FCA
Mr E D Theakston
Mrs C Wike-Elwers BSc (Hons) PGCE 

Correspondence to the Chairman of Governors can be sent to:
Queen Mary’s School, Baldersby Park, Topcliffe, Thirsk, North Yorkshire, YO7 3BZ

Clerk to the Governors

Mrs S Standeven



Academic Staff

Miss E Abrahams Mont Dip – EYFS – Pre-Prep

Mrs S Akhtar MS (Hons) PGCE – Science and Mathematics

Mrs R Askew MS (Hons) PGCE – Head of Latin and Classics

Miss S Booth BA (Hons) PGCE – Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Mr C Burn BA (Hons) PGCE – Head of Adventure

Mrs D Coull BA (Hons) PGCE – Head of English

Mr A Cowey BEd (Hons) – Pre-Prep

Miss L Dumain Galan – Music and Boarding Assistant

Miss F Edwards BA (Hons) PGCE – Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs L Elliston MA PGCE – Head of Support for Learning

Mrs S Elliston – Teaching Assistant/After School Care

Mrs R Foster BSc (Hons) PGCE – Prep

Mr G Forster BEng (Hons) PGCE – Mathematics

Mrs J Headdock – BSc (Hons) HLTA Teaching Assistant SfL

Mrs K Henderson BA (Hons) PGCE – Head of Design Technology

Ms S Holloway Lloyd BMus (Hons) PGCE – Director of Music

Miss L Hurren BA (Hons) PGCE QTS – Physical Education

Mrs N Johnson BSc (Hons) PGCE – Head of Science

Mrs G Killip BA (Hons) MA QTS – English

Mrs E Lindsley BSc (Hons) PGCE – Head of Physical Education

Miss K Moran BSc (Hons) PGCE – Head of Geography

Mrs J Nuttall BEd (Hons) –  Prep

Mrs L Nuttall BSc (Hons) PGCE – Head of Mathematics

Mr P Nuttall BSc (Hons) PGCE – Science

Miss A Pearson BA (Hons) PGCE – Head of History

Miss D Pegg BA (Hons) PGCE – Head of Physical Education

Mrs A Petty CertEd – Learning Support

Mrs V Potter BA (Hons) QTS – Head of PSHE

Mrs F Prestwich BSc – Science Technician

Mrs S Pyke MA (Hons) PGCE – Head of Religious Studies

Dr E Radley BA (Hons) MA PhD PGCE – Head of Art

Mrs M Redmond BA PGCE MEd – French/Spanish

Mr A Sebestyen BSc (Hons) PGCE – Head of Computing

Mrs M Smerdon BA (Hons) QTS – Director of Studies/Religious Studies

Mrs A Starkie BSc (Hons) PGCE – Cover Supervisor

Mrs E Stephenson BSc (Hons) PGCE QTS – Head of Science

Mrs S Tapper Early Years Dip Level 3 – EYFS Teaching Assistant

Mrs L Thomson MA (Hons) PGCE – Junior School Lead

Miss K Vaughan BEd (Hons) Dip Drama ALAM (Hons) – Head of Drama

Mrs L Weston – Pre-Prep Teaching Assistant

Mrs K Wharton BA (Hons) PGCE – Prep

Mr A Would MA (Hons) PGCE – Prep


Boarding Staff                                      

Mrs H Duxbury – Senior Housemistress

Miss C Rawlinson BSc (Hons) – Weekend House Parent


Music Peripatetic Staff

Mrs A Bleiker BMus (Hons), PP RNCM (Distinction) – Voice

Mrs L Brown BA (Hons) PPRNCM – Voice

Mrs D Critchley GRSM, ARCM – Clarinet

Mr K Dale MA (Music) Dip ABRSM CELTA – Piano/Organ

Mrs H Dawson BMus (Perf) PGDip RNCM – Cello

Mrs I Dowell Dip. TCL LGSMD – Bassoon

Mrs N Dowell MA BA (Hons) LRSM – Flute

Mrs C Fletcher BMus PGDip PGCE – Violin

Mrs E Foulds GRSM Hons, LRAM PGCE – Piano

Mrs C Hewitt BMus (Hons), LRAM – Brass

Dr K Ounsley BSc (Hons) MA PHD Cert Ed LRAM – Piano

Mr G Stewart BPA – Drums

Mr J Swift GMus PGCE – Guitar

Mrs J Wesling BMus (Hons) PGCE – Piano/Viola/Violin



Mrs A Stringer – Head’s PA & HR

Mrs F Rose Gleig – School Administrator

Mrs A Gilmour BA (Hons) – Data & Examinations


Marketing and Admissions

Mrs J Hirst BA (Hons) ACIM PGDip – Head of Marketing & Admissions

Mrs C Lovisetto – Admissions Manager

Mrs A Briggs – Development Assistant

Mrs F Scott BSc (Hons) PGCE – Lettings and Events Manager

Finance & Estates

Mr P Normanton BA (Hons), CGMA, ACMA – Head of Finance & Estates

Mrs R Cornforth – Finance Assistant

Mr C Smith – Estate Manager/Health & Safety Officer

Mr N Johnson – Groundsman

Mr S Sheppard – Estate Maintenance


Bus Drivers

Mrs T Anderson

Mr L Clarke

Mr S Sheppard

Mr M Appleton

Mr L Kilmartin


Information Technology

Mr A Sebestyen – Head of Computing and IT 

IT Technician



Revd Pauline Percy BSc BA QTS – School Chaplain


School Nurses

Mrs S Beaumont RGN                                                      

Mrs J Gloag RGN



Mrs V Foulser PG Dip Couns & Psy, MBACP – School Counsellor    

Mrs J Aubrey – Independent Listener

Dr E L Dixon CPsychol AFBPsS – Clinical Psychologist


Riding Centre                                         

Miss E Hill BSc BHSII UKCC Level 2 – Manager

Mrs J Colley – Groom

Mrs A Sandell – Groom

Miss K Ayre BHSA1 – Instructor

Mr R Blane BHS1 –  Instructor


Speech & Drama

Miss K Vaughan BEd (Hons) Dip Drama ALAM (Hons) 



Mrs S Halshaw ASA Advanced Teacher

Close   ×

Request Call Back

The Admissions Office is open Monday to Friday 09:00 – 17:00.

Close   ×


Close   ×

Request prospectus